Unexpected sliders

Last night, Josh was working a double, so I was on my own for dinner. I didn’t really have any ideas, so decided to stop by the Middleton Farmer’s Market to see if anything inspired me. I was surprised to see a Food Cart in the midst of the booths selling cheese, honey, and produce. Slide Food Cart sells six different types of sliders, homemade potato chips, homemade pickles, and coleslaw. (Would it be considered homemade if they are made in a cart? Not sure, but that’s how the menu described them.)

I hadn’t been planning on buying anything from the cart, but while I stood there reading its menu, two customers were freaking out about how good the sliders were, and going on and on about the addictive quality of the homemade French Onion Dip that accompanied the homemade potato chips. When the operator of the food cart mentioned that she was going to be there every Tuesday evening, they reacted like they had won the lottery.

I asked the girls what they liked best at the cart, and was suprised at their answer: the “Beet the Meat” slider, described as “a thick beet slice slow-cooked in spices and topped with homemade creamy dressing.” When I responded with a “Really?” the girls assured me that they had thought it sounded gross when they first saw it, too, but it was really good.

I’m not sure I thought it sounded gross, but my response to beets can sort of be summed up with a shrug. I was fed a lot of beets by host families in the Peace Corps in Honduras, and they never really grew on me. They never repulsed me either; they’re just a neutral, red, stain-happy food to me.

But the enthusiasm these two had could not be denied, so I ordered a beet slider. I also got a “PowerBall” slider, which is described as a “mozzarella cheese-stuffed meatball with homemade marinara sauce and fresh basil.”

Your winning PowerBall number is… a slider

People of Middleton, this is worth checking out. The PowerBall was great. Spicy, but not too spicy, with just the right amount of cheese inside. I had been worried that it would be a giant mozzarella ball ready to surprise me with a cold, chewy mouthful, but it was perfectly integrated into the meatball and not at all overpowering.

My real revelation, though was the Beets the Meat. Holy man, that was good. The beet was sweet, and sort of cinnamony. It was topped with caramelized onions and that creamy sauce to hit multiple levels of flavor. This is the most delicious beet I have ever had and I find myself sort of surprised to discover that I think I like beets after all.

I got a bag of the homemade potato chips for Josh to enjoy when he got home from work. The chips themselves were pretty addictive — thin and crispy. The French Onion dip didn’t do much for me, but I’d definitely try some of her other concoctions.

Slide Food Cart will be at the Middleton Farmer’s Market every Tuesday afternoon 3:00 PM to 6:30 PM. Check it out.

3 comments
  1. Rick said:

    Your review of the Slide Food Cart convinced me. I’ve got to try this!

    • I don’t think you will be disappointed! If you check their website it should tell you where the cart will be and when. (They go to Madison, too, not just Middleton.)

  2. “The most delicious beet I have ever had” is a phrase I would probably not take seriously coming from many people, but coming from you I do.

Leave a Reply

