Heat Advisory

With less than a week to go before my next and final race of the year, the one thing bumming me out is the heat. The high today is 95, with a heat index in the 110s. That means no biking to work today and no going for a run outside.

I’m trying not to obsessively check the forecast for Sunday, but when I have, the estimates of the highs are ranging from 86 to 90. Which is really not that bad, comparatively. In a normal summer (i.e., not last summer) Wisconsin really only has one to three weeks of exceptionally hot weather. It’s just bad luck that it happens to be falling on a race week for me.

I know I didn’t hydrate enough in my last race, so I’ve installed a second water bottle cage on my bike, and have been experimenting with a product my husband likes when he goes running, Nunn. They’re little tablets you dissolve in a bottle of water, and they have all the electrolytes and stuff that help with hydration. I like that they don’t waste a plastic bottle and that they don’t taste too sweet. It took me a few sips to get used to the taste, as I usually prefer plain water, but when I took this on a long ride this past weekend, it seemed to really help. I think my plan for Sunday will be to take one plain water bottle and one bottle spiked with Nunn on the bike. I’m also adding a hat on the run.

I keep telling myself that the race starts at 7:30 AM and that it won’t be that hot yet. But I’d be lying if I said the heat wasn’t on my mind. The mental game starts early, and these temperatures are psyching me out.

Leave a Reply

