No Olympics for Me

Well, folks, I won’t be going to the Olympics this year.

An Olympic-distance triathlon, that is. What? Did that sound like I meant something else?

I’ve planned for and registered for three sprints already this summer, but my original (pre-knee injury) plan had been to also try one Olympic distance. I couldn’t help but notice that Rev-3 was coming to Wisconsin Dells, and I also couldn’t help but notice that registration was discounted until Feb 1, not to mention the coupon Active.com kept e-mailing me, plus the fact that June 22 fit right into my schedule.

But would I really be ready to roughly double my distances? I felt pretty confident with swimming. Even though we focus a lot on sprinting in my swimming class, our total distance each workout is usually around 3000 to 3500 meters, so I felt confident that I could at least survive that portion of an Olympic distance tri without pushing myself out of the running. Biking is never (yet) my strong suit, but I can go and go, so that didn’t worry me too much. It was running a 10k after everything else that was worrying me. My original plan had been to do my first 10k at the Berbee Derby in November, but my knee injury prevented that from happening. I revised that to the Shamrock Shuffle (on St. Patrick’s Day), but considering that I’m only running 1 minute at a time and it’s almost February, that doesn’t seem like it’s going to happen, either.

But, still, I was agonizing about this June 22 race. I may be naive (spoiler alert: I am), but I felt like I could, if worse came to worse, show up and do it, and do it pretty well.

So I had a chat with my physical therapist, figuring she could give me a clear idea of what I’d be capable of pushing myself to do this summer, and if nothing else, she made the decision a lot easier:

“No.”

Seriously, though, I so appreciate having a PT who understands triathlon and can frankly advise me not only on what I can and can’t realistically do, but also sincerely wants to help me achieve my goals. As a follow up to being shot down on my Olympic distance idea, I asked her, “Do you think I’m on track to being able to run fast this summer?”

She paused and thought about this for what felt like a long time, then asked me again when my first race was (early June) and how fast I wanted to go (“faster than everyone else”). I told her my PRs and roughly my competition, and she thought again, and then said….

Wait for it….

“Yes.”

So that’s where I’m going. Short and fast, all summer long. And you know what? As much as I feel like I’m only getting older, and I only just started this sport last year when I’m already too old, and I have to accomplish every single one of my triathlon goals rightthisverymoment, there’s really plenty of time. As a reminder of that, here’s your inspiration for today:

Jaring Timmerman recently became the first person to compete in the 105-109 Masters swimming age group. He set world records for that age group in the 50m freestyle and the 50m backstroke. He also holds the world record in the 100-104 age group for the 50m freestyle, by the way.

3 comments
  1. Anne said:

    I’m so happy you’re recovering!

  2. aron said:

    I had carpal tunnel a few years ago, and I didn’t listen to my doctor, I kept pushing myself. It almost cost me everything I’ve worked on so hard. Thankfully I’m 99% recovered now, but my lesson was to always listen to the doc.

Leave a Reply

